Fevered

When I close my eyes, I can feel tears burning behind my eyelids.

Oh wait, that’s just the fever.

 

burning, burning, a painful haze
questing, searching, countless games.
Can no one see through my thin-veiled pain
can no one see my anguished days...

I run hard, I run strong
until I falter and down I fall
hit the ground, get back up
Don't stop to think or you're out of luck

I can't believe I'm running away
can't believe this is only the first day
Still I feel that burning smile
a fever pressing on my crazed mind.

It's hot, to the touch
burning in my mind
A lack of sleep and such, you see
has left me stumbling and far behind.

The race is being run
I'm behind, I fall, I'm done
does iron run as their blood?
in veins of liquid sun... 

Burning haze, perishing craze
eating up my mind
I stand, colors rush, I fall
I think I cry out but no one answers my call.

So I'll just lay in the leaf-loam today
waiting for the sun to stray
past the edges of its broken sky
down to let in the glorious night

once finally the sun is set
i'll find a chance my sleep to get
and once my body finds its peace
this fever will at long last cease.
Leave a Reply

