Handsome

I like

Hair in its curls and twists

And thin faces

With eyes accentuated by beautiful lips.

 

High cheek bones

And sharp jaw lines

And thin fingers and long toes

Or so I thought.

 

Because I met you

And your hair is straight

And your face is not sculpted like mine.

 

Just like mine, though

Your fingers are thick.

Calloused from working

And perfect for holding.

 

I do not know why

Everything I professed to like

No longer matters

 

Because your face is my favorite

I light up with your eyes

I did not know how much I loved

The way eyes crinkle when the soul is full of joy

But then I finally met you

And you rewrote what I knew.

2 thoughts on “Handsome

Leave a Reply

