Some far-away

If I ever were to indulge
Allow myself the misery
Of imagining a time and place
Where you did not love me;

Well in that place, in such a gap
Would you suffer me to win you back?
Say you’d let me sing a tune
Say you’d hear me call to you.

Certainly in my imaginings
My voice has left your remembering
Surely a hum of love from me
Would jar your loveless memory

In such a far-away; another sky, another day,
Where all the “ifs” in mind coalesce
And form between us a lovelessness,
Such a place is silly, yet haunts nonetheless.

So if in some space and time you’d find
That you did not wish to be called mine
Oh promise me a simple thing
In that place swear to hear me sing.

Leave a Reply

