I am unworthy.
I am simple numbers and you are quantum physics
I am no science at all and you are biochemistry
You are all the good and light that I alone could never be.

Metaphors are weak little things
They dilute the strength of my feelings
Jesus, how could I possibly understand
How much more you are than I can comprehend

If I crumpled in your presence and was tossed into the wind
If I scrubbed at my own stains or tried to clean away my sins
Lord, I’d never be enough
To call myself your friend.

I am not fit to die a gruesome death in your place
Yet you died upon MY CROSS to bring me mercy, healing, grace.
This slave is not fit to die for royalty,
Yet here you are, my King, who humbly died for me.

Leave a Reply

