Who am I

The insecurity came back again
And dealt its glancing blow
Deep inside my heart and mind
I felt the beauty go

It left behind a gnawing ache
A vulnerable question
That bit into a broken place
Worthlessness its intention

I must step back and shake my head
Acknowledge nothing of the type
I am me because my God above
Crafted lovingly the soul inside

Worth is not who validates me or why
It’s not beauty or the lack thereof
Patiently I must deny the lie
That I am found in earthly love

Rather I seek to know my worth
Through knowing Jesus more
Tears will well, as insecurity hurts
But my God will throw it out the door.

Leave a Reply

