I’ll just stay here

Go and dance without me
In your fields of busied time
Sing your tunes and weaving melodies
While I brood in clouds of grime.

The dark heart of the skies will open
Pour its weighty lonesome down
I will sink ever lower under and
I doubt they’ll ever dig me out.

Oh, why must rawness sliver like knives
Into my comfortable life
Why must doubts and fears seep in like fog
To blackly mar the light?

There is no courage kept within
I tremble in the softest wind
To hide behind the rhyming songs
That plague my lilting mind.

To delight the tunes that dance about
The songs that frolic through the breeze
We write to still the pains and doubts
That seek our souls to bleed.

Leave a Reply

