Less miserable

Once I was crying very hard
And the sobs shook my bony frame
(Not small, mind you, just
Bony)
And my family was there, trying to
Comfort me, trying to
Help me feel better
But for all their efforts I felt worse.

And then our tiny
Five pound
Feisty angry unfriendly-to-strangers,
Scraggly stumpy wiry (pretty bony herself)
Absolutely itty-bitty dog with a Napoleon complex,
She came and nosed me and sniffed my tears and pawed at me and whined and worried and eventually curled up on my lap, all bones and black fur and radiating warmth,
And I kept crying
but I felt less miserable, you know?

Leave a Reply

