Abba Always

No matter what I thought
He reigns;
The light obliterates the clouds,
Despite the winds and storms and rains.

And absolute and just is He,
So loving, full and strong.
His heart, it pains when ours cry out
He’s with us all along.

And even when it seems so dark,
The shadows absolute,
He sends his love to dry our tears,
For He himself has borne these wounds.

My God reminds me endlessly
That I matter after all.
His love embraces and engulfs me
I am held even as I fall.

He does
Not Mind That I am broken;
His forgiveness knows no bounds.
I can
Not
Change
His love for me;
As he paid in blood and thorns and bone
And died
To set me free.

A wave of what, how can it be
Crashes heavy over me
a God, THE God, has love… For me?
My heart finds hard to believe.

And yet every time, when He thinks of me, the Love he holds is true.
A God, my God, believes in me
So why can’t I love Me too?

Leave a Reply

