Terribly silent ‘I love you’

I can never, ever tell you

That your dark eyes make me smile;

Or that

I ache when I see you

For want of some way to 

Be near  ;

That I want to take care of you

And hold you but keep my distance,

And love you and teach you to love,

All at once,

Always,

All at once. 

I cannot help but feel that tugging aching breaking inside,

Like a fatal, blinding light

Has somehow found a way to shine

Inside my bones. 

Watching you walk away

Always out of reach

I want to make things easier for you

Shoulder those burdens

But I can’t. 

It’s never going to be right. 

So I must sadly smile

And turn away,

Always glancing back 

to make sure you’re safe. 

2 thoughts on “Terribly silent ‘I love you’

Leave a Reply

