A sore throat?

Thank you that I do not live

With straining heart and shallow limbs

Thank you for taking them away,

Oh how they both taunted me 

And sickly preyed on my family;

And colored me, cruelly,

The flaming sun-dead shade. 

Thank you for making it end,

The hollow half-hearts, screaming 

While my spine writhed within 

Molten muscles; shrieking bones. 

All the clamping voices that used to shout inside my body

I thank you now for the silence broken only

By an ocassional sore throat. 

Leave a Reply

