Leeches

It’s a good thing

My life is not lived seeking your approval. 

Because your sideways sleights

Your quiet niggling comments that creep into my mind

They would make me miserable

If I let them. 

No more. 

You are not a friend. 

You are a leech. I am done allowing you to feed

On my blood. It belongs to me

And while I would happily donate a pint to someone in need

I refuse to let a monster use it

To grow stronger. 

Consider this ‘friendship’

Terminated. 

I          Am.              Free. 

Leave a Reply

