What light can exist without a flame

What father without a son?

What tree can thrive without the sky

Full of fire as warm as love?
I do not think that I either

Could live without your light. 

For even surrounded by Death-words,

My language is filled with your might. 
I struggle in this ocean of oxygen, 

I scrape by only on bread and meat. 

My soul is starved, my heart out-bled

And my spirit can find nought to eat. 
Give me the food of the golden suns

Give me what fuels the skies. 

Sick of crawling, this endless run

Has struck my spirit blind. 
Again, you call me near to you. 

Softly then my heartaches are known. 

I fall into deepness and still you call,

You command me to return to my home. 
So I run, done with crawling,

with the faux joyful face. 

I am warmer already

By the light of your gaze. 
And I run, now with joy

I run free from pain

I run to your feet

Where I can finally 

Breathe

Again. 

Leave a Reply

