The fight 

What suffering could ever lead to light?

Why not rip the darkness to shreds and let it burn apart

Why not kill the sickly beasts and let the Lion reign again

I am sick of Your children wandering off, my sisters and brothers, lost

To the eternal night, either slaughtered or tortured or left to rot

Their hearts full of the dark they once ceaselessly fought. 

Spare me this sorrow and spare them this life

Full of distraught and terror and hate

Choking on oxygen riddled with poisons

Missing the clean air of grace. 
You hold the power, the only truth left

To wipe out transgressions and sickness and death

Oh Child, you say to me, can you not see?

That’s exactly what I’m doing, and I start to breathe

It’s starting with you,

It’s starting with me?

Go show them the light, they must come to me freely. 

All at once I understand

You are fighting the dark, you are holding my hand

I lost sight for a moment when the shadows crowded in

But I remember again; you were slain that we would be forgiven, and live!

That evil would perish instead. 


2 thoughts on “The fight 

Leave a Reply

