Human Galaxy

Starlight streaked into my eyes
And colored the heavens within my mind.
I reached for the sun but it was gone
Instead my flesh burned at darkness’s song.

Startled my fingers curled away
and the sickness inside screamed at the day.
I tried to cover my ears but found
my hands had melted down to bone.

In agony I closed my eyes
but wickedness within would thrive;
if I kept the light outside at bay
so I tore off my eyelids and fixed my gaze.

The stars burned fierce and electrified
the alleys my mind had once designed.
I cried out in pain and stretched my skin
to try and keep the laughter in.

Blood spun out and painted the sky,
all the darkness smiled at my demise.
but light bled in where veins had been
and kept my torn heart animated.

Re-formed then and born of light
my eyelids stars, my blood-light bright.
when darkness falls, I will show the way
for others struggling to find the day.

One thought on “Human Galaxy

  1. This came out much weirder than intended. Just meant to be a metaphor for the pain we go through in life and how it can refine us to be more compassionate beings – and how God renews us despite life tearing us apart. His light leads the way.

Leave a Reply

