Welcome Sunrise

Late at night and I contemplate
Your glory beyond my mind.
I wonder with Small strength, just what lies ahead this new morning for the earth.
what destiny have you prepared for me? what new steps, what new praises, what new psalms? how will i
so tiny, insignificant, crumbling
and inadequate
how will i serve your might
how will i stand before your perfection, trembling,
bleeding dishonesty and doubt?

even as darkness bowls me over
and the wavering mirages worry me in;
my God, the Lamb, alone He stands
as shadows writhe before Him!

i bow my head in broken awe
unable, exhausted, distressed
yet the throne of the one and only King
is here for the weak, the sick, the depressed.

so i approach
and He knights me with light
and my screaming-mind is over.
i am small-strength no more.

One thought on “Welcome Sunrise

Leave a Reply

